Marc Goldberg ..What is this WDO?

Marc what are they.
PPB? Big holes for them from my experience , but I’m no expert.
There was a few larva in the holes. The holes were approx. 1/8 ".
They are on the exterior cypress trim boards.
Thanks Brother… I owe you one.

Carpenter Bees?

Those are really large around here .
Like bumbles bees.
That was my first thought, but I will admit I don’t know all the WDO’s here in my section of the Redneck north Florida.
You maybe correct.

That was my first thought.

that’s what it looks like

I was thinking the same thing but do not know if they are around Florida. My only experience with them are as pollinators used in Canada. A farmer I knew had a shed full of hives.

Looksee what I found :

http://entnemdept.ufl.edu/creatures/misc/bees/xylocopa.htm

I think we are all correct…MAYBE

See attached

Carpenter bees make holes about 1/2" in dia. and about 6" long

exit holes.gif

Old house borers

Marc must be out fishin’ :lol:

http://www.inspectoroutlet.com/wdo-guide-pdf.aspx

Carpenter bees Roy. We’re in active season for them now.
Notice the “dust” in the holes they leave. It’s pollen for the larvae.
They do not use wood/cellulose material for nutrition, only for nesting.
It’s pretty cool if you catch 'em making the holes which are almost perfectly round, they then take a 90 degree turn after around an inch deep to make their cell.
ps>> They are all girls that do this! ha ha

Per Florida Pest Control Act, they are not a wood-destroying organism down here.
Reason behind that is a WDO is defined as arthropod/plant life that can damage & reinfest wood in a structure. These guys do not reinfest. :slight_smile:
It’s been around 20 years since they took it off the list, used to be on the WDO Report but they changed it.
I don’t agree with it.

Ordered… thank you.

Marc, the holes are only 1/8". Carpenter bees don’t sound right.