Metal roofing

I got a call yesterday from a gentleman building a home in Celebration. It’s about 3500+ sq ft, and 3 stories, with a standing seam metal roof. He has issues with the roof and the roofer.
I told him I’m not too familiar with metal roofs, but he was more interested in the idea of an impartial inspector as the roofer denied problems when confronted.
There are points where the seams for the metal roof are not tightly joined, and also, where the metal meets the siding, they left 2"+ gap, covered by flashing, not butted up to the siding.
Also, around a curved tower, the roof step flashing is fastened on top of the metal roofing - is this OK with metal roofing?
Any help would be appreciated, and I have many other pics. Thanks.

The cap on top of the turret would be hard to install any other way. Same with the ridge cap, that looks typical. I am not an expert either, and if wind-driven rain is a concern in Florida :p, there may indeed be issues here. But in my opinion, it looks like typical work. Sorry this does not help much.

John Kogel
www.allsafehome.ca

Hi Andy,

that appears to be at best a very sloppy install, I would look to the manufacturers installation instructions, and be looking for the manufacturers technical rep for an opinion.

That step flashing looks totally wrong from here.

Regards

Gerry

Thanks Gerry. I agree that it is a sloppy install. I told the client he should have the roofer return with a mfr rep to go over it, but he wants me to document what I’ve found. I’m thinking I may wind up testifying at some point…:roll:

Thanks John - the cap on one of the turrets is actually crooked, leans about 2-3 degrees to one side.
I’m sure this material is not the easiest to work with. However, the seams are crooked and it just looks really sloppy and amateur in many places. For this $2M house, as I told my client, the roof should do:

1. Provide shelter and protection, and
  2. Look good while doing it.