Mortarless Brick Siding

I saw this today for the first time. What will they think of next??

P7200032 (Small) (WinCE).JPG

P7200041 (Small) (WinCE).JPG

P7200034 (Small) (WinCE).JPG

P7200035 (Small) (WinCE).JPG

I have been studing NovaBrik for a few years now. There are also a few building in my area that have been done in it and look very good. The thing I like best about mortarless is that you don’t see any pesky cracks due to slight movement like you do with traditional brick.

I am however concerned with the amount of required attachment vs weight however I am not an engineer.

Even with the overlap shouldn’t there still be a drainage plane behind it?

Nova Brick Installation

Shows house wrap and taped joints behind brick face in wall preparation section.

PDF Format

The key word here is UNSKILLED LABOR can be taught to build.
THE TWO BLOCK ADVANTAGE

The Patented Two Block Haener Mortarless Interlocking Insulating System is the newest innovation in mortarless systems.
With only two blocks, as compared to as many as seven in other systems, building is easier than ever. The two components are the combination stretcher-corner-end-block and the half block.

Labor cost is reduced as block laying is up to 10 times faster while the possibility for placement errors is virtually eliminated.
Unskilled workers can be taught to build with Haener Block on the job site with a minimum amount of training.

• Can be made in split block and an interlocking, load bearing curved block for retaining walls and other specialty uses
  • Inventory is simplified, since there are only two components in the Two Block System
  • The ideal building system for low cost housing
  • Does not require use of heavy or costly machinery on the building site
  • Lintels and columns are made with the block
    http://www.haenerblock.com/versatile.html
    Semi-skilled, unskilled or do-it-yourself labor can lay Haener Blocks

Pretty cool isn’t it?

Thanks for the link.