NH Licensing

I am concerned about licensing in NH and will be attending the meeting on the 24th. It may prevent me from entering the business.

I am setting up, hopefully, a new HI Business in NH. I’ve about 40 years experience in building commercial and residential buildings – both as a Tradesman and as a Project Manager, Estimator, and Owner. Recently I’ve done some classroom HI training and am doing the other required “homework” needed prior to opening my door for business (insurance, marketing & business plan, “tooling up”, joining the right organizations, etc). In addition, I’ve an advanced degree in business (an MBA).

I am now fearing that if a licensing requirement included fee-paid inspections, I will not be able to open my doors for business even though I feel quite qualified. Indeed, perhaps more qualified than someone young enough to be able to afford an apprenticeship to get their fee-paid inspection experience but without ever seeing how a house gets put together or how all the systems are supposed to work.

Can you tell me what the proposed licensing requirements are?

Thank you,

Andy Frost
Structured Consultants, LLC

It may prevent me from entering the business.
Hi Andy!
Nothing could be further from the truth. This law not only protects the consumers in New Hampshire but also protects the legitimate New Hampshire Home Inspectors who are already in business. So….if you are a Bona Fide Resident of New Hampshire and have passed a nationally recognized Home Inspectors examination you should not be concerned.