Oldie Magic Chef can't find year

I’ve been all over the net looking for some info on a Magic Chef Furnace

Model: L62-84D-3
Serial: A 04626H8B

Preston’s information doesn’t match the furnace and from reading other posts it should be older than 1982.

Any ideas

Here is a pic…

I’m not sure but perhaps April 1962. I am a newbie but have some experience. If possible compare that date to some of the other mechanicles tosee if it’s in the ballpark. Just a therory.

Serial: 04 = April / 62 = 62

I would hope that is it. some of the other serial numbers suggest that the letters are the years…

Hi to all,

Prestons list several variations on that model number L62-84D as beeing current from 1982 to 1989, if the house was built in the 80’s you can bet it’s the original

Regards

Gerry

I checked the Preston’s online and the BTU rating doesn’t matchup. The ones listed there show 105 as the capacity.

The house was built in 1910 and I suspect that the furnace is older than 82. There was a stamp on the case that had a # 17 H78.

I’m still looking on the net. . . and the serial number decorder sheets that have been posted by others do not have the number code for the Magic Chef and or any of the previous companies.

I believe you are confusing the BTU input and output figures.

Prestons list the BTU input for that model as 105,000, the manufactures data plate list the BTU **output **at 84,000.

Regards

Gerry

If it’s really that important you can try contacting the following company. Looks like they bought the Magic Chef assets in 1988:

**Adams Manufacturing Company
**9790 Midwest Ave.
Cleveland, OH 44125
Phone: 216-587-6801
Fax: 216-587-6807
Email: adamsx@att.net

I’ll try that. . .I need some sort of proof that there was service prior to 1976 and there are no records only the furnce. . .

thanks for all the input!

Also you may try to contact your local parts supply for HVAC. they have been able to look up good info for me in the past.