Pre-Listing Agreement

I’m sure this question has been asked many times before and I apologize. I am no lawyer but it would seem to me that a pre-listing agreement would, or should differ from a standard insp agree to provide adequate liability protection. With the current condition of the market I am just starting to get requests for pre-list insp. I have had to politely turn them away because I do not feel my agreement or the NACHI agreement will adequately protect me from the pit falls that seem obvious to me.
Can anyone tell me where I can find examples of pre-listing agreements or does NACHI have one that I’m not aware of so I might take advantage of this source of inspections.

Robert,

Whether it is a pre listing or pre purchase I always use the same agreement.

Always seemed to me I’m inspecting the condition of the building at the time of the inspection, it says that in my agreement, and in my reports.

So I just use the same old, same old.

“This report was written for the condition of the property at the time of this inspection, not tomorrow”

Yes, Dale has it well defined.

I concur…

Are you interested in a MIC-style inspection program or just vanilla pre-listing inspections that are simply for the seller’s information?

I don’t see any pitfalls with the vanilla pre-listings but I wouldn’t touch the MIC style stuff without a contract that clearly defines the purpose of the program and how the report and its findings can and can’t be used. And I would steer clear of statements such as “this home is certified by the seller to be free of major defects and safety hazards”.:wink:

I am not familiar with MIC-type inspections but, Nick you know what I’m getting at. Even the so called vanilla insp should, in my opinion be defined in the standard contact as how it can be used.

The disclaimer for this goes in the report, not the agreement, as the new buyer is not a party to the agreement you have with the seller.

Here ya go: