Rusted Gas Line

Hi,
Recently I did an inspection where the gas line was under the house in the crawl space. The line is black steel and somewhat rusted (see photo). It appears to be more than just surface rust. Rather than make a call as to whether there was an actual problem or not, I recommended further investigation by the utility company. I got a call from an upset realtor because she thinks I recommended replacing the line. Maybe I’m second guessing myself now. I am a newbie at this. What would you have done? Did I overreact?

DSCF0140.jpg

Howard…based on the small photo you posted I probably would not have called that out for further investigation. Now, you say it appeared to be more than surface rust and you were there and saw it with your own eyes so I could be wrong. The realtor has no say-so in the matter. This is between you and your client so make a call, best you can, with the information at hand and stand behind it.

Howard…based on the small photo you posted I probably would not have called that out for further investigation. Now, you say it appeared to be more than surface rust and you were there and saw it with your own eyes so I could be wrong. The realtor has no say-so in the matter. This is between you and your client so make a call, best you can, with the information at hand and stand behind it.

I think I would of said in the report:

“Natural Gas Piping is deteriorated from rust caused by moisture and age, in my professional opinion I would suggest you consider replacing the pipe for the safety of the occupants. Because of the location the pipe is not visible unless someone went into the crawlspace and looked at it every once in a while, and since we both know this probably will never occur, simply replace it and reduce the chance for failure”.