Second job while starting out as a new inspector

Anyone care to share what they did for work while getting started in the inspection business. Were you able to continue with your current job until you gained enough clients to let the first job go? Did you try just inspections but realized in the beginning that you had to take a second job to make ends meet untill you gained enough work to live on just the inspection work? Did you get enough work from day 1 to not have to worry about it? Does your spouse make enough to allow you to just do inspections…etc. As a truck driver, I would have to quit my current job and figure out something else. Maybe I will get a part time job at a big box home improvement store! Biggest “hands on” cheat sheet. :grin: Thanks!

2 Likes

Why not drive locally on an on call or part time basis while working on the inspection career?

I studied to be a teacher at the university but didn’t use it.

I was a “hands on” building business owner. I started that, after building a web site, talking to people about what I was thinking on doing, getting my LLC, studying, Taking the test, aligning my attorney, accountant, etc… and then went right into Home inspection full time. I had done some home “Look Arounds” before that for 30 years, or more occasionally, but didn’t realize what I didn’t know to do on inspections before the classroom, and online studying.

However, I am aware of other that kept their day jobs e.g. military, engineering, pharmaceutical sales, etc. and scheduled their inspections on days off, evenings, weekends, etc. until they felt they could exit their"day Job" and do home inspections full time.

I hope that was helpful.

1 Like