Shingle Uplift Help

Hello,

I have a quick question about shingle uplift. First of all, i am not a licenses home inspector, i am an underwriting insurance inspector. I am in the process of completing my NACHI training and going to take the exam to become a home inspector so all the help i have gotten from NACHI is great.

My question is what casues shingle uplift, i did a 4-point insurance inspection on this dwelling down in Florida, The customer stated that the shingle uplift in the picture below was no issue, as his home inspector when he bought the dwelling stated that this is normal and there was no moister getting into the roof decking material.

What causes this??

The customer had spray form insulation under the decking about 3/4" thick would this be cause from that or would this be caused from poor valley flashing.

The insured also stated that the granule loss of the roof is normal. The roof is about 14 years old Architectural shingle roof the granules on the bottom of the ground were very heavy is some areas.

I thank everyone for there input and i am still learning new things everyday.

Its hard to tell however from my past roofing experience i can say that sometimes the valley flashing does not lay down flush with the sheathing. As far as the granule loss without seeing how much loss there is i can say that you would expect to see a larger amount below the valley because of the larger amount of water flow.

I tend not to “speculate” as to the cause of an issue.
I either know what causes something or I don’t.
However, it is clear from your photo that there are issues with
the shingles/installation. A normal shingle roof in good condition
does not exhibit that kind of uplift. Defer to roofer.

It depends on how old it is.
At times a new roof will take many month to lay down.

I would guess it was the valley metal…since they missed the center of the valley by about an inch and a half.

Any permits for this roof?