Stupid Should Hurt. This is for you NE Florida...

First, I should state that the reason for this post and the not-so-thinly veiled hostility to follow has nothing to do with your incompetence as an inspector (as much as that alone would justify this), but more importantly for taking me away from my weekend activities to answer emails concerning topics that were already covered by our expertly crafted report, and subsequently having to write this….

You see, when an agent that feeds you referrals asks you to render an opinion on another home inspector’s report (ours), you should simply walk away and clearly explain the following…

1. I was not present during their inspection and therefore I have no firsthand knowledge of their inspection methods nor the conditions/limitations that existed on the date/time of their inspection.
  2. My evaluation is limited in scope and is not a home inspection as defined under Florida law, and more importantly you should see item #3.
  3. Neither their inspection report nor their client’s real estate contract recommended an evaluation of these conditions by a home inspector representing the seller’s interests. They recommended an evaluation by an appropriately licensed stucco/siding contractor.
  4. Lastly you should explain to them that you need time to research the inspection company you’re about to contradict, in the event they’re way smarter than you.

The last sentence in item #4 is critically important because…yes…we’re smarter than you are, and I don’t say this out of vanity, but because your level of stupidity simply cannot be our fault. You had practice. Lots of it. The bar has been raised.