To walk or not to walk....

I’m new to the inspection business and am trying to figure out all of the equipment that I need to get together. I’ve read several articles on here that are either for or against walking on the roof. One of my friends is a realtor and he seemed less than impressed and said his clients are less than impressed with an inspector that only looks at the roof with a good pair of binoculars. Is this pretty standard across the board? Here in Kansas City there is a wide array of roof pitches. I’m thinking a pair of cougar paws for the ones I’m comfortable with and a ladder on the eaves with binoculars for the ones I’m not. IMO it doesn’t seem worth it to spend a ton of money on good climbing equipment to keep from falling off a step roof when I could probably achieve the same result by looking at the roof from the eves. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks!

I walk the roofs I consider safe to do so. I’m not risking my life to try an impress a realtor. The rest I view from the eaves, binoculars and ladder. I need to get a pole for my camera too… Some guys have started using drones.

Follow your gut if it does not feel right don’t walk it. I been at it 18 years and there are very few I don’t walk you just can not see all the problems from the ground or the drip line

I walk roofs and have a 24" ladder on my truck.

Anything over 6/12 I think about depending on if thei
r cut up or not.

9/12 I say forget it.
I have heard a few guys say they walk them all but then they say they have only the telescoping ladder which goes up 17’ I believe. That won’t do 2nd story homes.
roof-pitch-chart.gif

Camera poles, drones, binoculars are all good tools to have.

I say do what your comforable doing, ain’t worth $350/ $400 if heights make you nervous. When I was young I scampered any roof like a squirrel.

roof-pitch-chart.gif