Unidentified plumbing items

I am just starting out in home inspection. I have a couple of plumbing items I am not familiar with. The first one is a tank on top of a H2O heater. It is T’d off the cold water supply.

The second is under the kitchen sink. I know the appliance on the left is an RO system, but what is the white tank? The label says “For salt or service call…” so I assume it is a softener or conditioner, but not like any water softener I have ever seen.

Sorry about the sideways pictures, but I don’t see a way to adjust that on this forum.

Thanks for helping out the newbie!

The 1st one is a expansion tank. An expansion tank prevents pressure increases due to thermal expansion of your water. As your water is heated from 50° F to 120° F, it expands by approximately 2%.

If you have a “closed system”, which means there is a backflow preventer or other device that prevents your water from flowing back into the water main, thermal expansion will cause very rapid pressure increases in your plumbing system.

And the 2nd one is storage tank that holds the RO (reverse osmosis) processed, high-quality water until needed.

Using google is a good way to assist you.

I did know reverse osmosis required salt.

I did know reverse osmosis required salt.

The house may have a softener too. Installer must have put sticker on there.

Generic label… thus the “or”.

http://www.ashireporter.org/HomeInspection/Articles/Expansion-Tanks/14920

https://www.nachi.org/water-heater-expansion-tanks.htm

I strongly suggest that you get more HI education. REA’s will hire you because you lack HI knowledge, and have a better chance of not alarming the home buyer. This can lead to an attorney call. Read and study every InterNACHI inspection articles and CEU tests.

Education deficient.

May I suggest at least wondering the big box store near you until you understand what everything they have is for?

Your pics show very basic stuff. Education is key.