Unsupported concrete cantilever?

Today’s inspection on a 1961 single family. There was a wood burning fireplace insert and factory built chimney with a concrete base cantilevered around 4 feet without any supports. It appears they formed a stem wall and cantilever on one pour on the original foundation stem wall. There were some embedded brick remnants in the concrete below that made me feel there was originally a brick chimney, but its only a guess. In the crawlspace, I also observed a concrete (slab? deck?) cantilevered in the same fashion in the same spot underneath the fireplace appearing it was part of the same pour.

This does not look right to me and at a minimum should be supported by at least some post and piers but I’m no concrete engineer and want to make sure I don’t overreact on this one but it looks mighty sketchy. Can anyone provide me with some feedback on whether or not you feel this is acceptable or the reasoning behind this structure? Or am I justified to write hard…

That looks problematic to me, David. And with what I can see, I would refer it out to a structural engineer to verify structural integrity. Especially with the roof load on it, too.

1 Like

It can be difficult to justify elevating things because they do not “look right”. There is certainly ways to make this cantilever structurally sound. The problem is you cannot see any of the embedded reinforcements.

However, I do see this rebar which is exposed and lacking cover. And a few cracks. That should do it.

3 Likes

Not to mention the repair job already having been attempted on the supporting wall.

3 Likes

I’d be more concerned about the repair job on the pre-existing foundation and when it was done.

There’s char on the outside, maybe that’s where an old clean out was at one time.

I’d be on the fence about calling for an SE as well, but it could be a good CYA issue.

2 Likes

You beat me to it Larry

1 Like

Thanks Larry for the confirmation!

1 Like