Vehicle tax deduction

I know last year tax laws have made it more difficult to claim more than standard deduction, but…
For a home inspector that owns their own business, are miles or vehicle costs tax deductible?

I ask because I have owned my own LLC in the past and my mileage/vehicle did not qualify for deductions for that business.

Yes, as long as you’re driving to your clients and not a grocery store or personal road trips around the country :slight_smile: Confirm with your accountant.

which business was this? some businesses “don’t require” travel, like working from home. That’s the only exclusion I’m aware of.

1 Like

I was a flight instructor for some years. My accountant at the time said I could not count mileage because I was always driving to the same airport. But I was operating under my own business so it didn’t make sense to me :man_shrugging:
As an inspector, I would obviously always be going to different places but I wanted to see if there was some obscure reason that I wouldn’t be able to count mileage as an inspector…since I learned not to assume I could count them as a flight instructor.
Thank you for the information!

Said vehicle can only be used for elements based solely for the business and nothing else (personal, not even 1 mile). To and from jobs and operations only for the business. If you are audited they will make you prove every mile and you will need receipts and jobs dates among every element to show every mile was used for business. Every gallon of gas was used for business along with insurance, maintenance etc…

1 Like

I kept a mileage record on my appointment sheet from google maps.

3 Likes

If the ownership document have the business name on it and it’s used for the business, you can write off darn near everything related to said vehicle. If you privately own it, then travel and fuel from the “office"to the"job” and back can be written off. Detours to the grocery store for dinner on the way home does not qualify.

1 Like