video sewer line inspections

Originally Posted By: rfarruggia
This post was automatically imported from our archived forum.

I was thinking of getting the equipment and training to add video sewer line inspections to my available services.

Does anybody else offer this? Any advice?
Thanks

Originally Posted By: ssmith3

Equipment is expensive. Starts around 6k for it. I call one of the local plumbers that have the equipment already. They usually charge the customer $100-$200 depending on the lenght of the run.

I don’t recommend it for all customers.

Scott Smith

Marinspection

Vice President NorCal NACHI Chapter

I graduated from collage. Now my life is all mixed up.

Originally Posted By: tbrown1

In response to the sewer line video inspection service, I agree that equipment is pretty expensive. Would take a long time to re-coup your costs even if you charged the $175.00-$250.00 I have been quoted by our local plumbers.

I also don’t recomend this with every inspection, mostly for older cast-iron drain/waste lines, for perforation from tree roots or from rust-throughs due to age. I personally have not heard of a rust-through problem in our community in a house that was less than 60-65 years of age. However, it is a good recomendation to your clients that are purchasing properties this age or older.

Tim Brown
A Advanced Home Inspection

Originally Posted By: kwilliams

to NACHI Tim

Member - MAB

http://www.nachi.org/convention2006.htm

Originally Posted By: rmoore

One agent who regularly refers me always arranges a video inspection on older homes at the same time as my inspection. A slight hassle for me as I sometimes can’t run the water for the first hour, but I do appreciate it being done.