What is the white insulation?

I’m brand new to the industry and I bought this house a couple of months ago. While I go through the courses, I’m fixing up my house in the process.

The photo shows the insulation in my attic. I know the yellow is fiberglass but I’m kind of stumped on the white insulation.

From the course material, I’ve inferred that the white insulation is probably fiberglass or cellulose. It’s almost looks and feels papery though.

What do the professionals think?

They are both mineral wool.

3 Likes

Do you mind if I ask, how can you tell from a photo?

When I conduct a Google image search of the different types of insulations, they all look very similar in the photos.

Experience.

Yes, both mineral wool.

3 Likes

Mineral wool is more dense than fiberglass, think of a sheep…

Experience like they said + 35 yrs crawling thru it

2 Likes

Watched a Building Science video by Belinda Carr where she demonstrated that Mineral wool is water-resistant and fiberglass easily absorbs water.

I took a couple of small pieces of insulation and applied water droplets to it and the insulation soaked up the water like a cotton ball.

My question is, does mineral wool have the same water-resistant quality in loose-fill form as its dense-form? Does its water-resistant quality fade over time?

1 Like

From Montana that looks like Insulsafe installed with an old hopper.

2 Likes