3/4" separation between chimney & house OK?

I just inspected a house that had a fireplace added in the basement about 25-30 years ago. The chimney has about a 3/4" (2cm) separation from the house. It was not visibly leaning, but there was some cracking noted on one side of the fire brick inside the fireplace.

According to the sellers, it was built as a “free-standing” chimney, not supported by the exterior wall. Obviously it was attached to the foundation at the fireplace itself.

Is this sort of gap between the chimney and the wall normal for such a structure or are the sellers “blowing smoke”?

2007.jpg

2007.jpg

2007.jpg

2007_012035728-Richland0042.JPG

2007_012035728-Richland0041.JPG

I’m no expert on chimneys, but I can certainly see a problem with moisture freezing/expanding in the 3/4" gap, particularly on the front side where rain and snow can go straight down behind the chimney.

Jim King

I can only imagine that it will get worse, I would defer it to a professional mason.

Appears to me that there might be some structural concerns here as to why it is pulling away from the house.
It definitely needs further evaluations.

Marcel :slight_smile:
</IMG>

It appears that the chimney was not properly anchored to the house when it was constructed. Potentially very dangerous. I have inspected the aftermath of a chimney collapse due to the lack of proper anchoring.

Regards,

Frank,
The gap appears to be consistantly spaced.Not wider at the top than at the bottom.If the gap at the top was wider I might be concerned that the chimney is leaning or pulling away.
Another thing that makes me think it is not moving and is free standing is the area at the soffit and facia.I see no gap there,only a messy paint job.
What did the flashing and shingles look like in that area.
A good poly type caulk would stop any water , wind, and insect intrusion.