4 point inspection metal roof

I’m an HI inspector in FL and wanted to know how others handle the 4 point question of the roofs age when its a metal roof and there is no permit? The home was built in 1945 so if there is no permit, assume that the roof is original? I’ve only inspected a handful of metal roofs and its tough to gauge when the dwelling is 76 years old.

Do you honestly think metal roofing was available during wartime??

4 Likes

Well, seeing as this is my first post as a CPI, there was a window that popped up in my reply. I copied and pasted it below.

Welcome to InterNACHI®️ Forum — **thanks for contributing!

• Be kind to your fellow community members.
  • Does your reply improve the conversation?
  • Constructive criticism is welcome, but criticize ideas , not people.

For more, see our community guidelines. This panel will only appear for your first 2 posts.

Maybe you need to review the guidelines. Your comment does not seem to be kind insinuating that I should know about war time building materials, your definitely not improving the conversation other than to feed your superiority complex, and if this is considered constructive criticism, it was a question, not an idea. If you don’t have a relevant response, don’t bother responding.

1 Like

Have any photo’s?

Based on your info it should look like this
covering material: metal
roof age: unknown
remaining useful life: 1-3-5-7-,etc years estimated (whatever you think)
date of last roofing permit: unknown
date of last update: unknown

Welcome Hans! :cowboy_hat_face:
Jeffrey replied & did what he is known for, he tried to make you THINK.
He was right on based upon what you said. Consider retracting your reply.

3 Likes

The oldest metal roof I ever saw was lead, from 1921. That roof lasted almost 100 years. If this is a painted metal or aluminum standing seam job, I kind of doubt the roof is original.