A/C Compressor/Disconnect Question

Greetings!

I am a fairly new Texas inspector and have a contract on my house. The buyers hired a seasoned inspector, after which they submitted an amendment to the contract asking me to take care of a few items. Two of these items are the subject of this thread.

1. The disconnect for the air conditioning unit has #10 wire on 60 amp breakers. Have licensed electrician install proper weight wire for the 60 amp breakers.
  2. Federal Pacific Electric brand panel for the air conditioning disconnect. This is a fire hazard. Have licensed electrician evaluate for consideration of replacement.

These are verbatim from the contract amendment, and it appears as though they are take directly from the inspection report, although I do not know that for sure.

I question the accuracy of both statements.

The data plate on my compressor requires a minimum ampacity of 25 amps. Does not a #10 wire meet that requirement?

Two questions on the Federal Pacific disconnect panel. First, I understand there are differing opinions on their safety, so I don’t think the inspector should have made a flat out statement that it is a fire hazard. Second, it’s on the exterior brick veneer wall of my house - it is not the service panel. Now, it does have what appears to be a breaker rather than a pull-out disconnect. One breaker is labeled 60 and the other “Non-Auto”.

Gentlemen, I don’t want to hire an electrician just for the sake of hiring one. Any guidance you can provide will be greatly appreciated. I read some time back a lengthy forum thread, but I know that doesn’t make me an expert. I do want to do the right thing for my buyers.

The photo of the 40 amp breaker is for the compressor and is in the main panel in the garage.

Thanks in advance.

Oh, the house was built in '86. Best I can tell the main panel is GE.

Rick Henrichs