Career Change in Montreal!

Hello! First post here. Looking for some input/advice. I passed my CPI here back in 2017, but got sucked back into the ‘well paying’ world of IT (comfort zone I guess). I’ve been an IT Product Manager for over 10 years and it paid for my life and home. My family has always been in the trades - ‘get a good office job they said’, so I did…but I’ve always wanted to be an inspector or building project manager and such I always strived to learn on my own time.

Fast-forward - COVID has made me realize that no amount of money is worth sinking your life away on Zoom meetings all day. So I’m back toward getting re-certified as I never completed my year-1 follow up courses, currently working on my mock inspections.

I guess my question is, how do I go about my next steps? Should I look to apprentice with someone (I’m in Montréal btw). Should I spend my savings on buying gear, upgrading my vehicle now and go all in? Montreal specifically is red-hot, I have no doubt in my ability to be able to successful in this industry and in this city- but the leap is huge for me and I definitely need on-site practical experience, wondering how to approach this part of the journey.

Any advice is welcome.

Joey

Don’t get picked up on a date from RY!!

3 Likes

Give me a call. I can answer some question and posably help you move forward.
PM me.

1 Like

I don’t get it. For the life of me I can not understand how an awards committee member/officer can troll a fellow member and get away with it.
You degrade the office, the organization and most importantly the industry.
We are private businesses.
I am proud of this organization and I am going to email Nick Gromicko.

Great example of why you need to BEWARE of any interactions you have with this WAFI.
Read through the MB and you will see literally hundreds if not thousands of posts just like this one, or worse!!