CMI vs. CMI

I have a question about the use of the CMI designation. There are two seperate certifications in the home inspection business that use the same designation letters. We have the Certified Master Inspector and the Certified Mold Inspector programs out there. Both use the letters CMI as a designation.

I have earned my Certified Mold Inspector designation and wish to use it in my advertising, but I do not want to mislead anyone by making it appear that I am a Certified Master Inspector. Any advise on how to deal with this?

Thanks

CMI (Certified master Inspector) is a registered trademark and cannot be modified. Try spelling out the other one, or finding another abbreviation.

Sure about that?

http://tess2.uspto.gov/bin/showfield?f=doc&state=2np9bv.2.12

notice that is abandoned and is classified by the USPTO as “dead”.

Also note that there are 53 “live” registrations of CMI for use in all sorts of industries.

http://tess2.uspto.gov/bin/showfield?f=toc&state=8ktu43.1.1&p_search=searchss&p_L=50&BackReference=&p_plural=yes&p_s_PARA1=live&p_tagrepl%7E%3A=PARA1%24LD&expr=PARA1+AND+PARA2&p_s_PARA2=cmi&p_tagrepl%7E%3A=PARA2%24COMB&p_op_ALL=AND&a_default=search&a_search=Submit+Query&a_search=Submit+Query

Looks like it should be filed for again so that CMI’s can continue to use it

Wonder what went wrong

rlb

“NACHI Certified Mold Inspector” was a Trademark we filed http://tess2.uspto.gov/bin/showfield?f=doc&state=d1nm3l.2.1 It was denied as a Federal mark (as it probably should be) but we filed it anyway to establish our common law rights to the designation.

Hmmm, seems those searches that I linked to above expire after a few minutes.