Commercial Inspections

Originally Posted By: Lindsey Golubosky
This post was automatically imported from our archived forum.

Hello everyone,

I’m basically a new home inspector in Pennsylvania. Less than a year anyway… My question is this, What does the state of Pa. require in order to do a commercial inspection? I’m talking about say a dentist office, warehouse building, building for a store front, etc. I’ve read Senate Bill 1032 at least 100 times. Is there such a thing for commercial inspections?

Originally Posted By: jmyers

Lindsey,

First off...welcome to NACHI.

From the standpoint of the law, commercial and residential inspections are treated equally. The deciding factor here is whether or not the inspection is related to a real estate transaction. If the inspection becomes a negotiating point of the real estate transaction then you must follow the law.

Large commercial inspections are completely different from residential inspections and you should be aware of the differences. For example most commercial electrical services are three phase, residential is single phase. Most large office buildings use built up roofing systems, residential is shingle based.

I am not trying to scare you away from commercial, just make sure you know what you will be dealing with and get educated with it. It would be very helpful if you could spend some time with different commercial contractors that could "teach" you first hand what you are looking at and how to deal with it.

Joe Myers

Originally Posted By: Joe Wright

Joe,

I'm new to HI business as well and have been wondering the same thing...thanks for the info.

Joe Wright

Originally Posted By: jmyers

Joe,

Anytime, that is why we are here.

Joe Myers

Originally Posted By: rmeyers