Contractor/Home Inspector?

*I am kind of new in the Home Inspection field,but have been in the residential and commercial construction industry for the last 25 years.I just got tired of chasing employees around and dealing with the headaches that come with having several employees.That is why I like this business.I plan to retire doing this and plan to learn all I can about it.I see that there is a fine line that we all as Inspectors have to walk.Between real estate people,home buyers(saying the wrong thing),and home owners(saying the wrong thing).And then on top of that ,I see where some inspectors are also construction contractors.Isn’t this a little over the line of looking out for your client( who is paying you)? This is just a question,and I would like to know what you folks think. Thanks JC Smith *

Many regulated states prohibit this practice & I suspect most of the HI trade organizations have a clause in their Code of Ethics something like NACHI’s:11. The NACHI member shall not perform or offer to perform, for an additional fee, any repairs or associated services to structure on which the member or member’s company has prepared a home inspection report, for a period of 12 months. This provision shall not include services to components and/or systems which are not included in the NACHI standards of practice.

Ok,let me clarify what I am talking about before I give you the wrong impression of why I am asking.In my training,they tell you that it is unethical to solicite remodeling jobs during or just after an inspection.But,they say that if you do a job for a client after a year has passed ,it is ok. Let me add ,I have no intention of getting into the residential construction market again.But I see so many listed that do that very thing.I just wanted to see what the general poulation of inspectors thinks about this practice. Thanks ,JC Smith

Good question… the NACHI code of ethics states the following: