Down Periscope or Crazy A/C Venting Gone Wrong?

%between%Had a new A/C unit put in yesterday. They used existing pipes and swore that this is what manufacturer guide lines and code say it has to look like.

I’m not a professional, but I can’t help but throw common sense at the problem and see it doesn’t look right. I’ve never in my life seen anything like this and as military wife, I’ve seen a lot of houses all over the country.

Can someone please offer me any input on what the vents ought to look like, please?

Links to pictures

http://s894.photobucket.com/albums/ac144/smg2_2010/?action=view&current=0903111449052.jpg

http://s894.photobucket.com/albums/ac144/smg2_2010/?action=view&current=090311145001.jpg

Laura, there are likely too many additional questions that need to be answered before anyone can comment on your post. Describe the new system a little more, was the entire A/C system replaced including the outside condensing unit, the inside air handler and furnace, is it a high efficiency system (those ‘pipes’ look like they may be associated with a high efficiency system), where are you located? One photo appears to show a window well so I’m thinking you have a basement where the HVAC system is located, correct?

Micheal.
Here’s what I know:
The entire system was replaced including the outside condensing unit, the inside air handler and furnace. It is it a high efficiency system. The pipes are the intake and exhaust for the HVAC system that is located in the basement. We
live in the D.C. area.
Does this help?

Laura