HVAC Venting question

I am a new licensed inspector in Ohio. I always check out the daily forum summaries, learn something new daily, and have commented a couple of times but haven’t asked many questions. I know this is beyond the scope of a Home Inspection and certainly beyond the SOP, but trying to learn and understand a little more. Here goes: In an inspection I did the other day I saw the 3 white PVC pipes coming out of the side of the house. I understand these are part of the venting for the HVAC system. If I understand correctly this is an indication of a high efficiency heating system and one of the pipes is for air intake into the heating unit, one is exhaust (or is it condensation or is it both with a high efficiency unit), and I think, from what I’ve researched, is for condensation of the water heater. First is this correct if not what are they for? Second are they generally (or always) installed in a particular order (for instance is the top one always the air intake - or whatever)? and I have also noticed they all come out and point in different directions - is that specific (like if one of them is pointing a certain direction would that be an improper installation)? I also have noticed that often there is only 2 PVC pipes instead of 3; what is the difference? I also think these particular pipes in this picture seem to have a larger diameter than I usually see, is that something that is specific that could with certain specifications be observed as an improper installation.

Robert, can you post interior pictures of the pipes and where they come from and go to? :smile:

Larry, I’m not sure how much help there going to be but I will post what I have.
Here is the room where the heating unit and water heater are.
The far door is for close washer and dryer and the closer door (with the smoke detector above the door is where the HVAC & water heater are.

Here is the laundry area and to the right of that is the HVAC closet.

Here is the HVAC room.