Earth Grounding inspection and testing

I was in a home the other day that had a new detached garage put on the property. I was told that the electrical was inspected and passed. In are area the home is always grounded to the water service and then jumped over the meter. In this case the ground was disconnected as well as the jumper. My Question is, how can I truly tell if the home is grounded. I know that receptacle testers will not tell you so how do you know???

In my inspection I recommend further evaluation and repair by a licensed Electrician but wanted to know how we can check it for ourselves.

Suspect Ground is incorrect , Please have this checked By an electrician immediately .

I recommend you do not get to involved .
I am a retired electrician and want to stay away from Difficulties , hope you do too.

The water pipe, if 10’ long in contact with the earth, is required to be used as grounding electrode. If it isn’t connected, the system is still grounded because the grounding is actually accomplished by connecting the neutral (grounded conductor) to the equipment grounding conductor by the use of the main bonding jumper. This would take place in the service disconnect or panelboard that contains the service disconnect. If the main bonding jumper were present and properly connected you would find an extremely low resistance between the neutral conductor and the EGC.

The connection or disconnection of the grounding electrodes would have little or no affect on the resistance between the EGC and the neutral.