ESA wiring repair costs - who's responsible?

Hi everybody,

I reside in Ottawa. I recently bought an older home (87 yrs) - a semi-detached. Before buying it, I had a general inspection done and the previous owner, a construction contractor by trade, had a report stating that the wiring met the minimal code standards.

After I bought it, I soon found out via an ESA inspection that the wiring was complete “crap”. It will now cost between $6000 - $9000 to fix. Is there a way that I can make the previous owner cover those costs.

Being a construction contractor, he should have known better. Moreover, he was erecting a wall in the basement for me and he did the wiring for that himself. That accounted for quite a few defects right there!

Thanks so much!

Rob

Did you have a home inspection by a qualified home inspector or a general inspection by a GC or other trade person? You mention you have a report indicating “wiring met the minimal code standards”.

Minimal code on a 87 year old home sounds suspect. Besides any new construction work should have involved a permit, especially a wall with wiring - an electrical permit.

Since you have already signed on the dotted line, an Attorney is your only legal option, assuming you have already reached out to the previous owner.

This an example of you should have hired a certified home inspector yourself

87 Yrs old $6000.00 - $9000.00 sounds like K & T. Never mind the contractor, your insurance company may not cover you! The only hommie that wouldn’t catch that is well …he didn’t come from here. I am thinking no inspection …caveat emptor!

I believe the Electrician could be blowing smoke when he mentioned the upgrade pricing. I’d love to see pics…

You have had three opinions, one from your “general inspection”, one from the previous owner and finally, the ESA inspection. Only one of the three described the wiring as “crap”.