Fire inspector becoming a home inspector

Hello everyone,

My husband and I are currently attending classes to become certified home inspectors in Nevada. I am currently a municipal fire inspector (AHJ). Is it a conflict of interest for me to inspect homes within the city I work? For example, we learned that home inspections are not code inspections…but if I see code issues on a home inspection, am I required to report it since I have authority there as a code inspector? Another example would be if I see issues with the fire sprinklers…that is outside of the standards but would I be required to report/follow up as a fire inspector? I just don’t want any legal issues or extra liability. Thanks for any advice!
-Julie

1 Like

You shouldn’t run into any legal issues as long as you don’t intertwine the two jobs. At least not from the HI end. I’m not sure if there’s something in your licensing or SOPs as a fire/code inspector that require you to cite something if you see it? I can’t imagine that’s the case though since you couldn’t go out to dinner without writing something up.

3 Likes

Our local AJH prohibits their inspectors from citing code violations outside the context of the current inspection.

I can’t imagine you have a mandatory reporting requirement except in the context of the fire job.

That said a conversation with the legal department at the City seems in order.

1 Like

As for inspecting in your jurisdiction you would need to speak with your management to determine if they have any rules against it. Here in Texas some municipalities prevent AHJ Inspectors from doing that.

As for legal issues and liabilities that may be determined by the following.