firewalls

How many of you inspect for proper spacing of sheetrock fasteners on visible portions of firewalls?

Bruce, most can’t see the fasteners from the attic opening. :mrgreen:

With all due respect, don’t we have enough to inspect already.

LMAO Joe.:o

What’s so funny??? :wink:

I’m lucky to have an operational attic opening at all. For some strange reason, I’ve been running across a lot of sealed attics lately. :shock:

DUH… I just figgered it out !!! :mrgreen::mrgreen:

I am a new inspector. I am a General contractor. I am having a hard time understanding the line between Home inspector and Building inspector(municipal). It seems we would only be concerned if the sheet rock was not attached securely, not if the fastening was every 6" or 8". I am seeing post’s on this site and am seeing inspectors getting caught up on really specific codes. I know that codes are important and are connected to the building functioning correctly, but, do you get what I getti’n at? I am sure this is addressed in a study guide somewhere.

Just using your numbers here, but if 6" or 8" is the proper way to do it, wouldn’t that be verifying that it was securely fastened? Just playing devils advocate for the sake of your question.

I will report defects in the spacing if it is totally wrong. Theres a couple of condo complexes here where three to four nails per sheet was considered overkill. I report it, the managers complain and nothing gets done.

www.MauiHomeInspections.com

A fyi for ceilings 5 per joist is fine 3 in the field evenly spaced and 2 on the edges for walls 4 is fine 2 in the field and 2 on the edges of the each stud.