Florida Road Trip Question?

Hi folks, I am heading to Disney at the end of the month with the family and are doing the road trip thing. We are going to split the drive into 2 days and I have some estimates on drive times that I would like to run past you guys to see if anyone that has done this route or is familiar with part of the route can confirm or deny my estimates as I have never done this drive before.I am in Canada and I am 45 minutes from the border at Buffalo, we are leaving on a Sunday morning and will be following the I77 down and I anticipate driving a little over halfway on the first day. I believe I should be able to get to Charlotte, N.C. in about 12-13 hours depending on stops and overnight there. 2nd leg being Charlotte N.C. to Orlando, FL , I believe taking around 9-10 hours by following the I26 and I95. If anyone is familiar with any of this , any feedback would be greatly appreciated about whether this sounds right or if it seems a little off base. Thanks in advance.

Hi Jerry,

I know Claude Lawrenson has done the trip several times, as we chatted about it at one of the NACHI conferences, if he doesn’t pick up on this thread I’d email him for advice.

BTW, I’m sure he told me he drove straight through in less than 24 hours (mind you there was an Ontario registered minivan in the parking lot with a JATO bottle strapped to the roof!!)

Regards

Gerry

I think you are being too optimistic regarding the first leg of your trip, the key of course is getting south of DC. BTW good luck.

Bring your sunscreen and rain gear, it’s hot and it’s summer which means I can set my watch by when it rains. I have season passes and won’t go back until at least September.

Jerry i live on the north coast of ohio one hour west of 77…Charlotte is an easy 10 hour trip for me with stops and two meals…although my son that lives there can get here in 8 hours…enjoy your trip…jim