Foundation Crack How to report????

I inspected this 60 year old home and found this crack in the foundation. It ran from top to bottom, no displacement, and max width of 1/2 inch. The foundation juts out here as well (to the right of the crack).

As a newer inspector I never ran across this and was wondering how to report this.

010.JPG

Thanks
Lawrence Olsen
Universal Inspections

Recommend evaluation by a foundation contractor with remedy as necessary.

:smiley:

There`s a nice lil beauty…got milk?

Careful on those injections as about 50% will RE-leak. See other-
injection links `n pics posted…

http://www.wes.army.mil/REMR/pdf/cs/mr-3-9.pdf

-applications and limitations
Epoxy injection has been successfully used in the repair of cracks in
buildings,bridges,dams and other types of concrete structures.
HOWEVER, unless the crack is dormant (or the CAUSE of cracking is
REMOVED, thereby making the crack dormant), it will probably RECUR,
possibly somewhere else in the structure…

and ummm, just because a crack seems/appears ‘dormant’ at that
point-in-time does not necessarily mean it wont,cant incur further
lateral pressure or other other pressures subjecting it to widen.
thats why its best to repair the dumb crack on exterior,and not to
recommend CHTT(injections,50% success rate) that doesn`t help
lessen,relieve exterior soil pressure or roots or possibly drive/patio slabs
or a porch footing etc.

http://www.bobvila.com/HowTo_Library/Why_Foundations_Fail-Foundation-A2095.html

…‘often however, the biggest load on the foundation is not the weight
of the house, but the pressure of the SOIL around the foundation…
called the lateral load…’

http://www.Amherst.ny.us/pdf/building/soilsstudy/TOASFS_section3.pdf

3.2 Lateral Wall Pressure

http://www.fairfaxcounty.gov/dpwes/publications/marineclay.htm#2

Try n save a couples pennies(injection) or go with TOMMY BOYs brake pads
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8AaN0pK-Q6A&feature=related