Hard times anyone?

Hey everyone; decided to reach out to the community on this topic, I can’t believe I haven’t yet.

I've been an inspector about 10years. Before COVID I had been growing my business really well with great success. I had steady growth each and every year until covid. 2020 I was down about 30% then 2021 rolled around.. well this year I'm down about 55% from 2019 (my best year). I get 85% of my business from agent referrals, agents that have known me and my business for years.  I have a pretty good networking and marketing plan in place and I stay in touch with everyone on a regular basis without being too overwhelming.

Lately the phone just is NOT ringing, sometimes for days, no web site inquires, super slow. I have reached out to 100s of agents via personal phone call and I am being told its not me but the last 10 months most buyers are now forced into waiving their inspections in order to get chosen to buy the house. I do market a post inspection to most of these clients and honestly most don’t take me up on the post inspection.

I went from what I deemed a very successful inspection company to just barely getting by.
Am I one of a few? Are we all suffering? How can we fix this? Have anyone found a solution to help that they can share?

Thank you in advance for you thoughts and advice.

Jason, business has been slow but steady for me. I am working on Healthy Homes courses in my down time. I am reaching out to agents and trying to do meet ups in person or Zoom every week. Covid gave my business a boost, but I generate quite a bit from FB. I look for it and I network. Social media is one of the best ways for me to get business even though I am not good at it. I have been getting a lot of referrals from Clients and Agents so that’s been great.
Offer walk-through inspections to buyers that think they have to pass on home inspections. I have had to be flexible on scheduling as well to get people in when they are available. Keep on keeping on!

4 Likes