Hopeful to get in the career field

Hello All!

I’ll try to keep it brief and I’m hoping I can count on the breadth of experience here.

I’m a newb. Matter of fact, I’m not even a newbie yet. I’m not an inspector at all(yet) and I’m hopeful you all can help me change that. I’m recently retired from the service and I’m weighing the pro and cons of franchise vs sole ownership? I’ve done a lot of “reading research,” but I’m looking for practical and recent experiences from the experts before I decide which route to go. Again, I have no certs etc.

My previous field was in aviation maintenance. I know I have a lot to learn, but I feel I have skills that will translate well to this new and exciting field.

Is there anyone out there that would want to provide some mentorship or help answer some questions?

Thank you all!

Josh

Start by achieving your first goal, becoming a home inspector. Then you can decide what direction you wish to take. I prefered Sole Ownership.

What Robert said and join InterNACHI. You may find members are more willing to help members.

2 Likes

I am in a franchise and would be happy to talk to you about the pros and cons of it.

I would recommend it to some people and not to others for different reasons.

I chose franchising because I didn’t want to do any marketing design, website’s, figuring out systems, softwares etc. This was based upon my previous business experiences in other industries and my personal situation at the time.

Cheers.

1 Like

A&P - Airframe & Powerplant?

I was waiting to get qualified. In my reading, most franchise options get you qualified before your first paid inspection, correct?

I do hold an A&P.

That would be great! What’s the best way to contact?

I don’t understand the whole home inspection franchise. ITs not like buying a McDonald’s franchise where the entire world already knows what those Golden Arches are. You will still have to market yourself and business to become known so why pay someone else?

1 Like