How do I write this up?

One of the supporting I-beams has been bent (I would guess either prior to or at the time of construction). The house is about 25 years old and shows no signs of any structural flaws to indicate any weakening of the beam. Any thoughts would be appreciated.

Thanks,

Supporting I beam is damaged advise structural engineer to evaluate

My thoughts are it is not an issue,but at the same time you can,t ignore it.

I might observe that I see no signs of any movement around the beam that indicate emanate signs of collapse, but if that is the only Beam suporting the entire structure you may recomend a Structural Engineer look at it anyway.

I am not a Professional Structural Engineer so I would not assume I know it is not a future issue ,especially since the buyer will look at that thing everyday ,wondering why you did not recommend an Engineer.

Just my opinion, but lets see what they rest of the guys say.

Ed and Bob,

Thanks for your thoughts, I was thinking along the same lines, I was just trying to think of a way to express it. This is what I came up with:

“A steel I-beam support girder in the basement is bent, probably before or at the time of construction of the home. There appear to be no signs of structural flaws in the house (cracking in drywall, e.g.) to indicate weakening of the beam. However, since opinions vary, I recommend a qualified structural engineer evaluate.”

It’s time for bed, have a good night.

Sounds good.
Now save that for the next time these guys claim to click canned comments for all their reports.:slight_smile:

The beam is not bent but rather the bottom flange is deform / damaged at (fill in the location of the beam in regards to what its supporting)…use the proper term so as to not convey that the whole beam is affected by some undue stress.

Chances are that an engineer can evaluate same from his office if given enough information.