HUD requested rewinterization? Do you do them?

• I have been requested to rewinterize a house after my inspection. HUD is requiring this rather than let the buyers keep the utiliies on. Has anyone do this? If so could anyone elaborate on your process? I am a licensed plumber and I understand some of the things to do but I dont offer this service as a general rule, however I havent declined it yet. Any advice would be greatly apreciated. Thank you in advance for your comments.:mrgreen:*

I don’t take the responsibility of winterizing or de-winterizing any property. If it’s winterized when I get there, I simply disclaim all water supplied appliances, supply pipes and waste pipes. If it’s not winterized when I arrive for a home inspection, and someone is requesting that I winterize the property when I’m through with the home inspection, they’re asking the wrong individual. I don’t winterize, period.

I had one two days ago where the bank sent a plumber out to de-winterize a property for my inspection. After my home inspection, the same Plumber showed up to winterize this house again. I can’t believe the banks are now turning the water “ON” for the inspection. I hope this continues.

I would charge them to re-winterize the home. You can get HUD preservation info here

Thanks for the info, your help is greatly appreciated

If you do decide to winterize you better know exactly how to do it and understand the consequences of doing it wrong.

This is the result of an improperly winterized property.

John first take the counter off your site. Gives off the notion your new to the business. Second listen to vince. Lots of money involved if you don’t know what your doing and something goes wrong.