Humming in water pipes

Has anyone come across what sounds like humming (Not water hammering) in the water supply lines in a home. Even with the water off, it will sound like Tibetan monks at a morning gathering. And if you have what is the problem and fix for something like this. Thanks,
Don

The anti-backflow valves on exterior faucets can make a humming sound when the water is first turned off for a few seconds.

Is it occuring all the time?

Make sure the water heater TPR is not discharging a little bit somewhere.

Does it have gate valves? If the gate gets loose in the valve the least little bit of flow can send one chattering. Oh sorry, plus what Bruce said.

What Jack said.

I had one a few years ago that only hummed when the water inside was turned on, but it was at all faucets, tubs, showers, etc. Since I have had some experience with those nasty gate valves, I suggested to my Clients (and the sellers, who obviously needed to find another plumber) that it was the gate valve. They used my plumber who replaced the valve, solved the humming problem, and told them that every gate valve in the county should be replaced.

If there is humming, there has to be flow somewhere. If there are no visible discharges, and there are under slab water lines, then it could be an underground leak, which could cause serious structural damage.

Jim King

Good point, water is moving if it is making noise. What kind of heating system? Do they have a return on the HW line or a pump. Hopefully they don’t have a leak. I chased a noise once in the water system, seemed like forever, and it turned out to be the transformer for the door bell attached to the same piece of wood as a cold water line. The hum was picked up by the water pipe and it sounded like a plumbing problem. Drove me crazy.

Are you in the San Fransisco Bay Area??? There have been recent pro-Tibetan protests and it just may be a morning prayer gathering.

Toilet valves can hum when partially open with tiny particles.