new consturction venting.

2in pipe vent for bathroom comes up in attic and goes across attic to the kitchen vent and then out the roof. Is the 2in ok or is it supposed to be 3in.

thanks

Do you have symptoms of ‘gurgling’ while the water is draining?

tom

nope and I thought this is a none issue but someone else was trying

I believe you can use a 2" line to vent a 3" waste.

Hello…well im new to NACHI but i have been building homes for …well a long time…I have always done the plumbing and im pretty sure…that bathroom plumbing must have a 3" vent…reason i know? …well the local inspector was the general contractor for the olympic village in Atlanta…he was also a master plumber …long story short…he didnt like my 2" inch vent and made me put in a 3" and said it was required by the southern building code…and my water wall was built out of 2x4 studs…after that all my water walls were 2x6 studs…:roll: Anyway now im an inspector too…but not exactly a newbee…lol;)

if we’re talking about new construction, it should be inspected and passed. size of vents depends on fixture units and size of the building drain.

In my area a bathroom can be vented with a 2" pipe but, there are other factors for a whole building.

Most bathrooms can be served by a 3-inch drain and a 2-inch vent. Without a toilet, a bathtub with shower and bathroom sink can share a 2-inch drain and 1 1/2-inch vent. If you live in a snow and frost area, I would suggest you go the next size up to prevent freezing.

Welcome to Nachi.

A couple of things you should learn.

1. Just because you “built” houses, this does not (necessarily) mean that you know squat about inspecting them.
  2. Mere local codes mean nothing. They are more a political document than a technical document.
  3. If you were “building homes” for so long, how come you didn’t know the requirements for the local jurisdiction you were building the house in, where the local code inspector called you out?