I am also a Realtor

Good Day inspectors, i am new to internachi and have about 2 weeks as a licensed inspector and cpi.

i am also a realtor, i was curious about something in particular. As a realtor, can i also perform the inspections for my clients? you know, as an extra benefit to them.

No, because you have a financial interest in the outcome.

Read the Code of Ethics and SOP.

good luck

4 Likes
  1. The InterNACHI® member shall not:
  2. have any disclosed or undisclosed conflict of interest with the client;
  3. accept or offer any disclosed or undisclosed commissions, rebates, profits, or other benefit from or to real estate agents, brokers, or any third parties having financial interest in the sale of the property; or
  4. offer or provide any disclosed or undisclosed financial compensation directly or indirectly to any real estate agent, real estate broker, or real estate company for referrals or for inclusion on lists of preferred and/or affiliated inspectors or inspection companies.v
3 Likes

William and Larry beat me to it. What they said!

1 Like

ah yea, conflict of interest.

“disclosed” that’s the big one there.

ok, makes sense. thank you for clarifying.

Sure, why not. All of the “successful” agents are doing it.

1 Like

Hi Marcos,

Being the home inspector for a property you are also receiving a sales commision on would be a conflict of interest to say the least, full of potential liability and in violation of InterNACHI’s ethical standards.

That being said, you might want to stick to listings as a way to incorporate your home inspection skills with your real estate license. As a home inspector you could steer your clients to needed home repairs which could be performed pre-listing that could raise both the price and marketability of the listing, or at least your skills should keep you away from listing homes with major defects which might be harder to sell.

Good luck.