I would like some advice on offering sewer scope inspections

I am a brand new home inspector that has not performed any paid inspections yet and I was wandering if I should start offering sewer scope inspections right away? It seems like a lot of money to spend between buying the right sewer scope and getting the correct training. But it might be worth it for the extra money that I can make by offering it. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated. Thanks

1 Like

I really would like the offer the service because I feel that if I don’t then I will lose potential clients. I am just not sure how popular the service is. The return investment is good but only if the clients also want the sewer scope added to their inspection. Trying to see if I should start out doing them right away or if I should just stick with basic home inspections with no additional services and then add them later on?

You need to focus on mastering inspections!!
Most new inspectors fail due to spending their working capital on “stuff” they don’t need to succeed!!
Spend your money on an awesome website and quality marketing!!
Take your family on a short vacation, as they will be putting up with your stress just as much as you are. They don’t really have a choice in the matter, do they? Focus on what’s important. Everything else will happen, when it happens, if it’s supposed to happen!

13 Likes

1st Rule: Don’t get your hands icky.

You’re welcome.

1 Like

2nd Rule: If you do sewer scope inspections, don’t bite your nails.

5 Likes

That’s a great post! I’m living that last paragraph right now, freaking hilarious!

2 Likes

IMO, a good machine is expensive. A crappy machine is cheap therefore your product will be cheap.
I personally would not go that route. As @jjonas clearly stated…focus on producing a great inspection, a great report and getting your name out there. Add services later.