ICC Certification

Anyone have ther R5 certification as a Residential Combination Inspector? If so, do the exams in the (4) areas (B1, E1, M1, and P1) have to be done at the same time, or can they be done in succession? Any time requirements? Also, what do you think is the best way to prep for the tests?

Appreciate it.

I am an ICC Residential Combination Inspector. I took two tests in one sitting (4 hours total). Passed all 4 on the first attempt but I am a good test taker (does not mean that I am an expert on the subject matter!). The tests are really an exercise on if you can find the answer (information) in the code books. I do not believe they expect you to know the books completely. I studied by reading alot of the IRC. Then I became very familiar with the Table of Contents, the Index and the basic content of each chapter. Good luck! I have made money I would not have made by being an ICC Residential Combination Inspector.

Thank you both.

ICC exams are open book, so given enough time, everyone would score a perfect 100. The key to passing ICC exams is to understand that they’re really just speed tests. You have to know the answers to enough questions so that you end up with enough time to answer the ones you have to look up. It’s basically that simple. See my links in post #3 of this thread. Those links will get you to the point where you can answer enough questions correctly without having to look them up in the book, so that you end up with a couple hours to look up the rest. And you don’t even have to do that, I think you only have to answer a little more than 2/3rds correctly to pass.

Anyway, it helps if you understand that ICC exams are in essence… open-book speed tests.

Joe -

I’ve been BOCA, ICBO and currently ICC certified as: electrical, plumbing, building, mechanical and combo.

For my own peace of mind I took each of the 4 as a stand alone. Worked nicely. Studied for 1 week - took test. Studied for 1 week - took test.