inspection checklists

Hello guys,
I’m fairly new to home inspections. I’ve only done a few so far.
As we all know its very easy to forget to look at one thing or another during an inspection.
I was wondering if any of u guys would be willing to share your checklists, or at least tell me where I could find a few. That way I would be able to use it the next time I have an inspection.
I’ll gladly accept any file format u guys send me, (word,pdf,excel, access, etc…). or suggest i use.

Also what devices do you guys use for the checklists, small laptops, hand held small computers, tablets, etc, while doing the inspection?

Thanks in advance

Hovig
hovigt@gmail.com

most people dont use one. we just establish a routine and work in a cirle back to the starting point.
print a blank report to take with you.

I would recommend;

1. Print out a simplified standards of practice to refer to during the inspection and check off as you complete.
  2. Focus your efforts on mentorship by an experienced inspector, preferably more than one. Even if you have to pay for these ride alongs, it will be worth every penny.

Hovig, check your email.
Robert is right. What is important is you find the routine that works best for you.
Printing a blank report is also good idea as you could get used to an inspection routine that is in the same order as your report.

Hello Hovig
You may print this page and bring it with if you think it may help.

http://www.chicagolandhomeinspector.com/home-inspection-areas.html

Just glance down and see if you have forgotten to inspect anything you see or write short notes in the blank space if needed.Personally I find the camera is the best note taker as it may catch something you need to remember later.