Inspector in Training; Help with Pushmatic

Hello! This is my first time posting. I have finished my state course but chose to continue my education using InterNACHI since I felt I hadn’t learned enough to be a competent inspector. I am working on my mock inspections and came across a Pushmatic panel. We were never taught about these in my state course. I did try to research a bit before posting but to no avail. Can you please educate me on these and what all I should be looking for? The pictures aren’t that great as I had to work around furniture and the panel was right up against a wall in a corner. The other panel was locked up tight and I had no access to it. Also, if anybody wants to be my mentor…I’m all for learning as much as I can before I even attempt getting my license! TIA

1 Like

Grr! I don’t know why the pics are upside down and sideways. SORRY!!! :unamused:

Marnie,

There are tons of posts about Pushmatic panels that exist here already. Use the search option on the forum and read those posts and it will probably answer many of your questions. If you still have questions after that, you can add them to this post.

Hope this helps.

1 Like

All you need to say is that it is an obsolete panel for which new parts are not readily available. Federal Pacific also cheated on their UL testing. Many FP breakers simply failed to trip. This is the real danger. Despite what any one might say about these panels there is no way to properly test breakers in the field. Breakers that don’t trip cause house fires.

5 Likes

Thank you. I have tried to go over the posts but it seems they all say basically the same, a lot with conflicting information on how to call them out. I am honestly horrible with electrical to begin with. Our class wasn’t overly long, maybe a few hours, and barely covered anything. I had a lot of questions left unanswered. I have yet to take the InterNACHI electrical course.