Is my age an issue?

I am 21 years old, about to take the TREC exam, wondering if my age will be a concern to some clients? I have thought about this before in the past but as I am getting closer to being licensed, it’s beginning to worry me a little more.

Thanks for any input,
Matt

I am 24 and I don’t believe my age has had any affect on my business. YMMV

I could be 25. It’s my wife’s job to remember these things. Ha

Yes we get to old

and obese…;-):stuck_out_tongue:

I though TREC required so many years in the biz/experience? How do you qualify at 21 y/o?

Hey! lololol was that directed at me?

He took John’s course. :stuck_out_tongue:

I have 5 years experience, and I will do the 120 hours inspecting with a sponsor just for the experience and guidance.

For some it will be a concern, for others it will be an advantage. Like female inspectors, at the end of the day, it’s the quality of your work, customer service and relationship building that will determine your success, assuming you have a good business plan and marketing strategy…

Most of the folks who hire you will never see you until the time of the inspection. If you are concerned that people will equate your age to inexperience, don’t make your age apparent in your marketing.

How big an area are you planning to service? Do you plan to work the Houston suburbs?

If you don’t make it an issue it should not be one. Never apologize for your age. If you are confident and assuming you have been getting the necessary training to do this job, it will come across. Don’t bring your age up, but if it does, be prepared to calm any concerns the customer might have. Just don’t wear superman Tshirt to the inspection and be professional and you will be fine.

Besides, your brain is probably still working most of the time. some of the old farts here are lucky to find their trucks in the driveway.:wink:

That makes total sense.