Let the Ontario Government know your feelings

An email address that home inspectors can use to contact the government has been identified.
homeinspectors@ontario.ca

Please, if you have any thoughts or suggestions or resistance to the process now being put into place regarding the regulation or licencing of home inspectors in Ontario send them a message.
James Bushart has suggested that if enough of us voice our concerns we may be able to make a difference.
It is certainly worth a try

Cheers

Agreed Douglas as the only way to educate is with e-mails.
When CSA was forming the plan to work on standards for Home Inspectors they were over whelmed with phone calls. Phone calls should not be recorded and what better way to compile info then a huge file on the main frame computer of the coordinators.
As Roy pointed out Keep it short, polite and to the point.

I sent the following this morning and I did get a response

I am a home inspector conducting my business in the Provence of Ontario.
I understand that your Ministry is initiating a process with a view to regulating/licencing Home
Inspectors in Ontario by appointing a group to study the industry and make suggestions on how to accomplish that goal.

Please keep in mind that a vast majority of home Inspection companies are “one-man operations”. We are small business owners trying to make a living.
Consumers are not, for the most part being taken for a ride or being treated poorly. Sure some mistakes and errors occur but I seen no wide spread abuse that would justify this action.

There is, in my respectful opinion, no reason or justification for moving forward with this process.

In the event that this process does move forward I think that Home Inspectors who know what the industry is all about should make up the MAJORITY of members on that panel. Not some other so called"stakeholders" who are only there to increase their own income on the backs of the poor
one-man operator.