Metal Roof vs Shingle Roof Runoff Trajectory

I inspected a house today that replaced shingles with metal. The gutter looked too low and just looking down the roof it looked as if the trajectory of fast moving water off the metal roof would overshoot the gutter. So being a nerdy engineer I dug out my hydraulics books and computed the volumetric flow rate for 1/8" and 1/4" water depth and the trajectory running off a 4:12 pitched shingle roof versus a metal roof. Turns out increasing the water depth increased the water flow rate by 158% on the same roofing material and switching from shingles to metal increased the flow rate by 137%. The graphic below is a scaled drawing showing the calculated trajectories.

12 Likes

If you had a 2 story home, do you think that the water would be thrown far enough away from the foundation, assuming 2% slope, that you could lose the gutters?

1 Like

𝓝𝓲𝓬𝓮 𝓰𝓻𝓪𝓹𝓱𝓲𝓬, 𝓡𝓪𝓷𝓭𝔂.

1 Like

In my opinion, no. There is a larger trajectory right off the roof plane, but gravity will soon take over and drop the moisture only a foot or two from the foundation, of course depending on the overhang width.

3 Likes

Lose them if you want.
Gutters are optional, and in northern snow-belt zones, are a hindrance adding to ice damming issues that cause untold damages.

2 Likes

IMO, going without gutters has far more to do with soil drainage conditions than a few inches of where water lands. I’ve done most of my inspecting in Oregon where the soil basically sucks… heavy clay that holds water for a ridiculous amount of time. Over the last couple years I’ve been inspecting in Hawaii where everything is lava rock and the soil drains at lightening speed. Most of the houses here have no gutters other than strategically placed over entry doors to keep water from running on people’s heads as they enter/exit.

6 Likes

That’s interesting Randy. I’ve never seen gutters hung that low, but when I do…I am coming for this graphic! :smile:

1 Like