Mold sampling requirement Florida

I talked to a guy named Mr Rosen who has some training online for mold, etc. I’m new to the whole mold side and would like to see what is required to take samples and send to labs, etc. I talked to him on the phone and he said in 2012 the law changed that home inspectors can perform mold sampling if it’s an added service with a home inspection and not by itself. I thought great but I can’t find anything online that says that and didn’t ask when I was talking to him. Wondered if any of you could shed some light on this? Or maybe anywhere in the law it states that this is a fact. I can’t find anything as of yet but I’m still searching. Thanks guys.

I “think” This has been discussed a great many times here. do a search and you may find some info. I think it is still up to each inspectors interpretation of weather or not it is a good idea to do without a mold license. I am not sure if anyone ever came up with a definite for sure agreed upon by all answer. I say if you are NOT a mold inspector just sub it out. It is expensive to get insurance and why worry about the additional liability.

Just wanting to do some ancillary services to boost my income some. I don’t and will not do anything I don’t think I’m qualified for just researching it. I’ve been certified to do wind mitigations for over 6 months but haven’t done one yet because I’m still not sure I’m ready lol lots of liability it seems with them also. Thanks

Check your PM

As you may know the Department of Business and Professional Regulation and specifically the home and mold licensing units, are tasked with licensing and regulating home inspectors and mold related services statutes created by the legislature. The exemption written into Chapter 468.841(d), Florida Statute, states:

(1)The following persons are not required to comply with any provisions of this part relating to mold assessment: