OSB Defects: Can you tell me what this is?

I’m new to home inspecting, but not to construction, and I’ve never seen OSB like this. It looks almost as if it was intentionally charred. At first I thought it was moisture damage and fungal growth, but on closer inspection I found no elevated moisture, no fungal or mold growth, and no water intrusion. Can anyone help me out here?

Looks like it was a ventilation issue at one point. A lot of it has already been replaced.

4 Likes

Some OSB has been replaced. So somebody knows something they are likely trying to hide. Almost looks like smoke damage, but the trusses are too clean.

2 Likes

Possibly from being stacked wet before construction?

4 Likes

Welcome aboard, David. From here it looks like possible microbial growth.

4 Likes

How many sheets were coated with this black whatever? When manufacturing, they use ink to grade and label each sheet of ply. looking at the second pic, could it be spilled ink from the factory? :thinking:

3 Likes

I would say at least half of the sheets looked like this. The strange thing is that adjoining sheets didn’t display the same “defect.” They may both have staining on them, but at their intersection there was a distinct change in pattern so I know it wasn’t moisture, and it most likely happened pre-construction because the staining was between the sheathing surface and the truss. Whatever it is was localized to the individual sheets.

Welcome David! Looks like microbial growth, at least in some areas, to me as well. I second JR on this one. You’re asking about the OSB but I see indications of possible microbial growth on the trusses as well.

Edit: Did you test for fungal or mold growth? How did you “find” that there was no fungal or mold growth?

1 Like

It is. It appears that a new roof was installed. IMHO the ‘stained’ OSB should have been removed or treated.

@ dvaughn6
Kevin makes a great point…microbial growth requires and feeds on moist, organic material.