Realtors only using ASHI inspectors

Hi I’m an inspector in the St.Louis area and when I’m talking to new realtors in the area it seems to be a common trend for them to ask if I’m “ASHI certified.” I try to explain to them that Internachi is just as credible of a association as ASHI but they still tell me they would rather me be ASHI certified before they refer me. I was just wondering if there was a way to prove credibility or get Internachi better recongnized in the area.
Thanks,
Sam

Get me proof. My new legal team is bored and is asking for someone to sue. Not just hearsay, but some hard evidence. One of our largest multi-inspection firms is only InterNACHI, in St. Lous, and is killing it. Opening a second office.

Many inspectors belong to both associations

I don’t know exactly how to get hard evidence. I know that a did an inspection for a lady earlier this week and I was told she had to sign a waiver saying she understood that she was getting an inspection done by a non ASHI certified inspector.

Get me a copy. We love suing scumbag agents who steer consumers toward pattycake inspectors.

Out of curiosity, why would you sue an agent for recommending the inspectors that they want? There are a few agents here that only recommend ASHI inspectors and I miss out. The other agents that recommend me make up for it. In my opinion, it is no different from me choosing who I use to perform my radon testing.

I have had a situation or two where I learned that a Realtor had recommended their client seek out an ASHI inspector. I’m a member, so I did not have to explain why InterNACHI is better in most respects.

Apparently, ASHI has managed to position itself in the minds of some agents as the “gold standard” organization for inspectors.

Rather than looking for an excuse to sue someone, I would rather see Nick and InterNACHI go on a charm campaign and educate agents as to the superiority of InterNACHI and InterNACHI-certified inspectors.

Could not agree more.