Scares me

And I am not afraid of anything. Keep finding these breakers on kitchen ranges/cooktops

IR.jpg

IR_1645.jpg

Is that a 40 amp stove breaker? The wire does not look large enough.

I am new to infrared, as I have just recently received my Flir B60. I have been playing with it and found that an image like the one you show, tells you very little without knowing how much current is flowing through the circuit. I looked at my panel, saw the same thing and upon checking it with a clamp on amp meter found that there was only 8 amps flowing through a #12 wire and the 20 amp breaker. Far less than 80% of the breaker value. As this circuit was hotter than the rest, I got this disturbing thermal image. Correct me if I am missing something, but imaging a distribution panel without checking current flow is a waste of time. To simply look and tell the realtor and the client that they better have an electrician check it out is doing a diservice. The people involved are going to be a liitle upset if they have to schedule an electrician to come out and tell them everything is OK. I am aware that checking current is outside the scope of our inspections, but then again, so is thermal imaging.

Charley,

Do you have the digital image of that breaker area?

That is a very good observation James[FONT=Tahoma][size=2].[/size][/FONT]
[FONT=Tahoma][size=2][/size][/FONT]
[FONT=Tahoma][size=2][size=2]There is all kinds of insufficient information here. However, a differential in temperature across the two legs is an indicator, as the load should be balanced for this appliance circuit.

Also, any temperature in this range is enough of a consideration if the ambient temperature in the panel is this low. As this is a dedicated appliance circuit, we can often assume that the circuit is operating at capacity for this appliance, regardless of amperage (that is if the appliance is completely turned on during testing).