I mentioned in an earlier post that we were trying to introduce legislation in AZ for a statute of limitations on home inspections. I am trying to find out what states have a statute and what states don’t. Please let me know what your state does. Thanks in advance for your help.
California 4 years in some cases it is 4 years from discovery
In CA, it’s a matter of contractual law, not necessarily “inspection” related. The statute is four years of potential liability, with an additional year for discovery. In other words, if on the day before the end of the forth year a “breach” is alleged, an additional year is allowed for purposes of discovery.
This means that CA inspectors are potentially liable up to 5 years after the date of the inspection.
So does your contract state this to a potential client?
Of course not. Why would I want to provide this info? I attempt to limit my liability by including a 2 year statute in my PIA.
Pennsylvania = 1 Year
- Statute of limitations.
- An action to recover damages arising from a home inspection
report must be commenced within one year after the date the
report is delivered.